Blossoms of My Life

Without a doubt, this daily prompt (Blossom) opens so many windows in my soul.  I once read a book entitled The Language of the Flowers that was at heart a kind of romance book, which I usually detest. But, embedded in this book was an understanding of the meanings for so many flowers — “Rosemary for Remembrance” and such.  I have always been a plant-loving nature girl, but this book brought new meaning to my appreciation of flowers and how they mark our lives.  There are flowers for celebration, love, mourning, anger, revenge, success, wealth, and a world of other sentiments.

When I originally began this blog, I was a homeschooling mom with two beautiful girls  reading and learning their way through high school.  I had a small heard of sheep, grew my own organic vegetables, and fancied myself as a budding homesteader. Life was like the snapdragon flower — full with days of  playfulness and fun, representing a hope for children. Every decision was made with the focus of raising happy, healthy, God-fearing, young women, confident in themselves, who they would become, and what they would have to offer the world.  As all situations in life happen to be, this was an ephemeral time of joy and happiness that was as fleeting as the snapdragon itself.  My girls are all grown up and pursuing adventures of their own.  And, it is so gratifying to still be their cheerleader and experience them cheering me on to my own pursuits.

Now that I am classified as what most would call an “Empty-Nester,” though technically my girls still live at home between college term breaks, I have decided to embark on a new life adventure.  I set sail on June 12, along with my sister, in a small car bulging at the seams with  provisions for a summer of working, playing, and hiking in Yellowstone National Park. It is an adventure that I have dreamed of since my early 20’s but never really saw as a reality because the joy and excitement of being a mom  stood as a beautiful towering mural on the wall of life in front of me, and I could not see over or beyond it.   I feel a strange bittersweet emotion deep in my soul that I don’t yet have a name for — a mix of remembrance of all the joys in life thus far, excitement for all the adventure ahead of me, fear that I’ll do something dumb like get eaten by a grizzly, thrill for all the beauty of the earth that I will witness, and longing to still have my babies with me for every adventure.  

Leaving behind a life of familiar comforts and taking to the road of adventure is a grand step out of my comfort zone.  A sense of sheer terror sometimes creeps upon me to think that everyday ahead of me will be totally unpredictable (I may not even get to have my usual morning coffee time.) But I say, “ADVENTURE HERE I COME!”  Lavender is my new life symbol flower, with its gorgeous and fragrant purple blooms.  With its exotic qualities, lavender offers the promise of new adventure.

 

Thank you to the Daily Prompt for sparking these thoughts.

Leave a Reply

